Maine Has New Distracted Driving Law

Posted by Zak on September 3, 2009 at 10:43 am.

Starting September 12th, drivers in the state of Maine who don’t pay attention behind the wheel could be paying fines in court. A new distracted driver law, aimed at decreasing accidents and increasing safety on Maine’s roadways, goes into effect and State Police promise they will be watching the roads for drivers who are not paying enough attention.

Penalties for a first offense will be more than $50 with a second offense being more than $250. Police are quick to state that they will not be looking for people talking on phones or eating, but will be watching for people who are doing those things and driving poorly, become involved in a crash or breaking other motor vehicle laws.

Read the full article here.

Leave a Reply